top of page

Nomination Process


The candidate for Teacher of the Year should be:

  • A certified classroom teacher (clear and renewable certificate) in public prekindergarten through grade 12, including special education, physical education, art, music, media specialists and ROTC teachers. (Counselors are not eligible.)

  • An exceptionally dedicated, knowledgeable, and skilled teacher who is planning to continue in active teaching status.

  • A teacher who inspires students of all backgrounds and abilities to learn.

  • A teacher who has the respect and admiration of students, parents, and colleagues.

  • A teacher who plays an active and useful role in the community as well as in the school.

  • A teacher who is poised and articulate and possesses the energy to withstand a taxing schedule.


Selection Process for GTOTY

Each system nominee submits an application packet that is based on the National Teacher of the Year Program application. Applications are judged on all items on the entry form, and ten finalists are selected. Interviews and video evaluations with the finalists are conducted by a panel of judges. Finalists also prepare a speech at a luncheon in the spring. The 2020 Georgia Teacher of the Year will be announced at the state banquet in May 2019.

The Georgia Teacher of the Year, an educational ambassador for the Georgia Public School System, acts as a representative for all Georgia public school teachers and as an advocate for the school systems, its students, and its teachers. The Georgia TOTY’s numerous engagements usually include recognition before the Georgia House and Senate during the session of the General Assembly. The GTOTY typically takes a one-year sabbatical working directly with the Georgia Department of Education. During this time he or she speaks to various groups throughout the state. This teacher representative also conducts staff development activities for other teachers in his or her area of expertise; serves on statewide committees; and attends and participates in numerous state conferences.

bottom of page